Checking in through the Chaos

Standard

Probably one of the toughest things that I have to face while pursuing my interests in writing is finding time to actually do it! I think that this is true for all things in life. You have to make time for work, family, church, friends, and the list goes on. As humans, it is in our best interest to socialize, make a living, and make the most of the time that we have on this earth.

During my day job, I’m a teacher. I’m not just saying this in self interest, but teachers never have enough time. I didn’t realize how time consuming the profession was until I actually joined the rank and file! Luckily for me (and not so luckily), my current position is part time. It leaves me with some leeway to actually get some writing done. =) There are still lesson plans to be formulated, papers to be graded, actual teaching to do, but in between all that, I’m often at my desk, making notes about story ideas, hashing together ideas, and multitasking.

At home, I have a deployed husband, and three children, one of which we are currently potty training! Making time to write is hardest at home. I want to spend time with my family, help my kids with homework, teach the little one that the potty is a good thing, and try to keep collateral damage to a minimum. As a mother, I make time for my kids, and as a writer, I make time for my computer. The result is usually me staying up until the wee hours of the morning, after the kids have gone to bed. =) (For the record, it is currently Nap Time, on a Sunday, while the older two kids are spending the night with Grandma.)

I guess my main point here is that when you find something you love, you make time. Besides, our writers’ brains need time to think, compile, and come up with these wonderful lightbulbs that keep us writing! How flat are your stories going to be if you neglect to take part in your own life story?

Live, Love, Write, and Prosper!

-Tamara

About tamarahickman

I am a self-published paranormal and fantasy fiction writer, and math teacher. I have a full house (husband, kids, guinea pig), a "real" job, and a fantastic hobby that makes me happy and keeps me feeling fresh. I have an addiction to typeface smilies. ^_^

Leave a Reply

