What do I do now?

Standard

For all of my dear writer friends out there, and all my lovely followers, I want to share a little post-nan0wrimo wisdom with you. YOU AREN’T FINISHED! (insert maniacal laughter here)

writer tree

So true. So very, very true. I am still a student in the way of the writer, myself, but this bit of author humor seems to strike a certain chord with me. I’m working on book two of my Riesa Grimshaw series, but after the flurry that was November, I had to take a break from my novel. I had to step back and breath for a moment. I had to read someone elses words for a while. I had to forget what I wrote so that I could go after it again with fresh eyes.

And that is the story of how I managed to read seven harlequin romance novels in nine days. It’s my guilty pleasure, what can I say.

Admittedly, I did keep a running notepad of ideas while I was taking my “break”. The better to edit with, my dear.

Time to go back to work, I guess!

5 responses »

  1. Ahhh, the pleasures and pains of NaNo…I’ve never had the guts to do it, knowing how painfully slow I am at everything! Well done though honey and GREAT chart!!! 😀

    BTW, just HAD to tell you, that I’ve nominated you for a very prestigious award – The Flight of Fantasy Award, given only to the best fantasy writers around! I wanted to start the ball rolling by nominated you and all the other lovely AWB members, my way of saying thank you for the support and inspiration. HUGE congratulations sweetie, very well deserved!

    http://sophieetallis.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/365-days-one-year-ago-today/

    Like

  2. Yes I should be writing!! I’m getting so behind! 😦 Perhaps I should print this off and hang it next to my computer!!! 😀
    I have nominated you for the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger’ award, congratulations!! The instructions are on my blog 🙂
    lindseyjparsons.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

